In 2009, the California State Legislature passed, and Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger signed, Senate Bill 572 designating every May 22 as "Harvey Milk Day.”  SB 572 was authored by Senator Mark Leno and sponsored by Equality California (EQCA).  May 22, 2010 marked the very first official “Harvey Milk Day” in history and official launch of the Harvey Milk Foundation.  The Foundation brought California’s political leaders, celebrities and civil rights advocates together to celebrate Harvey’s legacy.  Events were held in Sacramento, San Diego, Los Angeles, and San Francisco.

In 2010, the Harvey Milk Foundation organized a Harvey Milk Day Steering Committee, under the leadership of Nicole Murray Ramirez and Anne Kronenberg, to begin expanding each year on Harvey Milk Day events around the globe.

More information: